Key Stage 3

Year 7 Humanities

In year 7 pupils are taught 3 times per week by a Humanities teacher covering content from History, Geography and RE.  Pupils study three units (one per term).  These are ‘Being Me’, looking at all aspects of what it means to be human and the environment in which we live. ‘Development’, looking at the history and impact of development and trade.  ‘Power and Politics’, looking at different political systems and democracy in the UK.

Year 8 RE

Pupils in year 8 look at a number of themes and world religions.  Units include: Inspirational people, key beliefs in Islam, Life after death, key beliefs in Buddhism, rituals and ceremonies and controversial moral issues.


Year 9 RE

Pupils in year 9 begin their RE GCSE following the Edexcel Religion and Life course studying four units: Marriage and the Family, Matters of Life and Death, Believing in God and Community cohesion.


Key Stage 4

Year 10 and 11 RE

Pupils continue with their GCSE RE studying the Religion and Society course studying a further four units: Rights and Responsibilities, Environment and Medical issues, Peace and conflict, Crime and Punishment.

At the end of year 11 pupils sit two examinations, each being 1hour 30mins to gain the Religious Studies Full GCSE qualification.